Minnow Victorian Championship 2024

Minnow Victorian Championships 2024 

written by Sara Lloyd 

With a total of 47 entries  (24 Open & 20 novice fleet), the weekend of racing was filled with lots of excitement, with the support boats in the water photographer – Russell Bates ready to capture some memories. 

Saturday’s racing was delayed due to light winds which eventually filled in after lunch and the minnows completed 4 races. Our fantastic BYS Junior & Youth coaches were also there, assisting the novice fleet and supporting the open. Everyone really stepped up and there was some great racing to watch. The day was completed with our 2024 AGM and sausage sizzle. 

With 4 races completed, Sunday morning started with plenty of minnow mustering on the McCrae lawn and some beach cricket to calm the nerves. Sunday’s racing was again light winds and finished with 3 races. 

We had a great weekend of racing, crystal clear waters of McCrae, our Mega raffle winners drawn and fantastic prices from our wonderful Sponsors Ronstan & Quantum Sails.  The Minnow Association and McCrae Yacht Club put on a fantastic regatta and best of all the kids and parents had an enjoyable weekend. 

The parents & coaches are very proud of the sportsmanship, friendship and sailing skills demonstrated on and off the water from the BYS minnow co-hort, (29 from BYS, 7 from McCrae, 5 from Williamstown, 4 from Parkdale, 1 Sorrento, 1 from Darwin). Well done to all the sailors!

Congratulations to the 2024 Minnow Champion – Will Hailes! Will sailed a fantastic regatta and proved he’s an expert in the minnow class. The full results are:

Open Fleet

1st – Will Hailes, BYS

2nd – Hugh Backwell, BYS

3rd – Alby Moorhouse, BYS

1st Junior – Lucas Hailes, BYS

2nd Junior – Lucy Ingram, BYS

3rd Junior – Jack Cronin, BYS

1st Female – Frances Gibson, SSCBC

Novice Fleet

1st – Charles Miles, McCYC

2nd – Andrew Kudnig, BYS

3rd – Neve Murphy, BYS

1st Female – Neve Murphy

Most Improved

Sarah Young, BYS

President’s Award

Leo Batendury – from Darwin YC

Novice Fleet Encouragement Award

Olivia Hannam, BYS



1st – Marie Fitzpatrick: Won a new minnow!

2nd – Andy McIntyre

3rd – Steve Sommers

4th – Andrew Cronin

5th – Scott Hailes

6th – Irida Bladon

7th – Alex Thomas

8th – Andrew Kudnig

9th – Jill Lloyd

10th – Georgina Plumridge

Russell Bates Photography



Latest News