Club Person of the Year 2024

Kirsten Binns Smith awarded as Club Person of the Year, receiving the Ian Pender Award. A very worthy recipient, Kirsten was presented with her achievement at last Saturday’s Annual General Meeting by BYS Rear Commodore, Ian Delmenico. Our newest member to the Club Person of the Year cohort is the classic quiet achiever – and […]

Aero Icebreaker Winter Series

Another perfect crisp and clear winters day with gentle 10K. Six Aero’s competed with engaging and close racing followed by a welcome hot lunch in the Racing Lounge. If the story of Heat 1 was the Commodore’s recent purchase of an Aero, then the story of Heat 2 was the recent purchase of an Aero […]

Presentation Night & Season 2023-2024 Results

Season 2023-24 SPECIAL AWARDS Bryan McCarthy Trophy – Best 1st year Minnow sailor Natasha Thomas Brown Family Trophy – Junior Sailor of the Year Hugh Backwell   Maclean Award – Best Youth Sailor Angus McIntyre   Instructor of the Year Samantha Batty Assistant Instructor of the Year Cassie McCarthy   Volunteer of the Year Veronique […]

Aero Icebreaker Winter Series Heat 1

The first heat of the Aero winter series was held on a beautiful crisp sunny afternoon in a light shifty 8-10K of breeze with eight Aeros competing, the largest fleet size all season. It was great to welcome two long term Aero sailors, Chris Young and Dean Cleland who got their boats out of mothballs […]

BYS sailors take on winter sailing at the SSCBC Midwinters

Over the long weekend a group of BYS sailors made the long trek to Sorrento for their Midwinters regatta. In the ILCA6’s, Gus McIntyre and Lucas James took the final opportunity to sharpen their skills before heading to Poland for the Youth World’s in a couple of weeks.  Will James, Fred O’Brien and Abby Young […]

Harding-Wilmot 49erFX campaign update

As many of you may already know, Annie Wilmot and I are on our campaign towards the Paris 2024 Olympic Games to represent Australia in the 49erFX class. We are currently in Spain finishing up a training camp and head to the Olympic waters of Marseille in a week’s time for another training block. We […]

Presentation Night & Season 2022-2023 Results

Season 2022-23 SPECIAL AWARDS Bryan McCarthy Trophy – Best 1st year Minnow sailor Isobel Ogilvie   Brown Family Trophy – Junior Sailor of the Year Will Hailes   Maclean Award – Best Youth Sailor Angus McIntyre   Instructor of the Year Harriette Singh   Assistant Instructor of the Year Jess Batty   Volunteer of the […]

BYS Sailors at Sail Bellarine

Sail Bellarine at Indented Head– BYS Aerospace on the podium Last weekend a dedicated team from our RS Aero fleet (Paul Rogers, Paul Smart and Simon Pluim) travelled to Indented Head to compete in the Sail Bellarine Regatta, hosted by St Leonards, Portarlington and Indented Head Yacht Clubs. We were joined by BYS talented J-70 […]

BYS Minnow sailors celebrate Darwin success!

43rd Minnow Nationals Report A few weeks ago we packed 10 BYS Minnows into a shipping container bound for the Darwin Sailing Club. Thanks to John Plumridge for the use of the Maw Civil yard in Rosebud to pack and thanks to Northline for shipping. In the weeks after the container was picked up three […]

Presentation Night & Season 2021-2022 Results

Off The Beach Season 2021-22 winners MINNOWS / SKIFFS Albatross II – Alby Moorhouse 1st Perpetual Shield 2nd The Aggregate 2nd Southern Waters Trophy 2nd Wooden Boat Shop Sunset Series 3rd Class Trophy Green Eggs and Ham – Will Hailes 1st The Aggregate 2nd Perpetual Shield 2nd Class Trophy Mako – Will James 1st Class […]